13.1 Miles to Fit

What does 13.1 miles to fit mean?

To me it means getting myself back into shape for the Pittsburgh Half Marathon. Last year my goal was to get into shape for the Wheeling Half Marathon. I started in January by doing small group training at my local gym 4x a week as well as my usual classes of Boot Camp, TRX, & Zumba. Over the course of four months I began toning my body down and losing weight steadily heading towards my goal. On May 28th I completed my first half marathon in 3 hours and 48 minutes. Was my time the greatest? No. But that didn’t matter to me. I had finished it. The course was tough and the hills were killer. But I had finished. I kept up with my workout routine until August 19th, 2016. On that date my grandfather passed away &  I didn’t take it very well. I turned to my comfort food and unfortunately lost my drive for the remainder of the year.

Now it’s 2017 & my drive has returned. I’ve registered for the Pittsburgh Half Marathon & I’ve changed my eating habits back into the healthier ones.  The point of this blog is to keep me held accountable for my workouts & diet. No more excuses. No more laziness. Time to get my fit self back.

Leave a Reply

