Sunday Lately #107

sunday-lately-with-blogger-tribe-banner
Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup hosted by the Blogger Tribe, which is led by Katy (Wild and Wanderful) and Angelica (Gardening in High Heels). We e-hangout every Sunday, sharing small glimpses into the past week of life in our own worlds. We’d love if you could join us! This week’s themes: Thinking, Finding, Allowing, Insisting, Repeating. 

The third Sunday in January has arrived & this week was a bit of a whirlwind but let’s jump into it.

Thinking: I spent a majority of this week thinking of where to travel this summer. I even consulted with my friend Nikki about her suggestions. I’m still trying to figure out where to go. I think I’m going to take a break from trying to figure this out. Perhaps in doing this the destination will come to me.

Finding: In my last Sunday Lately post I mentioned that I can’t help but feel like my family is drifting apart. While I was thinking about a travel destination & possible travel partners I tried to think of maybe a cousin I could ask. However when I really thought about it I knew that none of my cousins would be good choices. I found that when I really thought about it, at some point throughout my life, they always made the point to let me know that I was adopted. I knew this. I’ve known this since I was 2 probably. But making this realization was not only a depressing one but an eye opening one. Out of my entire family (not counting my parents) only my favorite uncle & my grandparents never made the fact that I was adopted a big deal. They just accepted me and never said anything about it. My five cousins on the other hand always had comments & they still do even though we’re in our 20’s, 30’s, & 40’s. Despite this depressing realization it leads me into the next theme…

Allowing: I’m not going to allow myself to become consumed with anger, hatred, sadness, or any other type of negative feeling about this realization. Instead I’m going to remain positive and keep my efforts focused on my workouts, my work family, church family, and the members of my family that truly do care about me.  When I combine these three families together I have to admit I have a pretty kick ass family.

Insisting: Okay enough with the doldrums. This week I found myself mentally insisting that I keep picking the healthy food options. There were times that I wanted a piece or five of chocolate or pop or even the dreaded fast food. I did pretty well & I kept up with my workout routine. I learned this afternoon that my body has already adjusted to the healthier eating when after my lunch I felt miserable. I couldn’t even finish the majority of my lunch. I didn’t think there was much grease in what I had ordered, but according to my body there was just enough of it to make me feel nauseous for 3 hours.

Repeating: To end this on a lighter note I’ll leave you with a song title you should check out. Brand New-Ben Rector. This song has been on repeat for the past month and a half. If any of you watch Dancing with the Stars you’ll recognize this song from one of Laurie Hernandez’s routines. I just think it’s just an upbeat song & the perfect start my morning. And I can’t help but love the first two lyrics of the chorus:

 Like when I close my eyes and don’t even care if anyone sees me dancing
Like I can fly, and don’t even think of touching the ground…

cd_9ba23afb-8a9c-48de-ab81-04b4b8de69bd_1024x1024

6 thoughts on “Sunday Lately #107

  1. That whole situation sounds so tough! I think a lot of my family have their own opinions and biases about adoption, but now that my cousin, who has struggled with infertility for years, is working to foster to adopt, I think their minds are changing. It’s just unfortunate that your cousins are so closed-minded. Family is more than bloodlines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was honestly the most depressing realization & it hit me like a ton of bricks. But I’m going to choose to rise above & not even dwell on it. I’ve been fortunate enough to surround myself with people who have become very much like family in the past few years.

      Like

  2. What a bunch of turds. Sorry…but it’s true. Family is family because it’s family. Genetics have nothing to do with it. And making a point to make you feel bad and excluded from their group is just gross. Cutting ties with that kind of negativity would be a great way to get ahead of your own happiness. They are the ones missing out on having such a wonderful person in their lives!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh goodness, what a sad situation. Some people can only focus on their narrow opinions. The best we can all do is remember that their opinions say more about them than they do about you, which it sounds like you’re doing. And oh do I feel you on your body letting you know when you give it something it doesn’t like. Ouch!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

