Sunday Lately #108

sunday-lately-with-blogger-tribe-banner
Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup hosted by the Blogger Tribe, which is led by Katy McKinley (Wild and Wanderful) and Angelica (Gardening in High Heels). We e-hangout every Sunday, sharing small glimpses into the past week of life in our own worlds. We’d love if you could join us! This week’s themes: Searching, Relying, Addressing, Praising, & Singing.

We’re back to Sunday again and this week was long. I think it was a long week for a lot of people for different reasons.

Searching: This week I found myself searching for a place to land. My urge to travel is slowly turning more into it’s time to move out & on. Where? That’s the hard part. I know I want out of my current city. I’m thinking Virginia or maybe North Carolina. Whatever my decision is I need/want to make it before the start of the ’17/’18 school year. To quote Belle, “I want adventure in the great wide somewhere.” Yes, it will be scary to move to a different city where I’ll know no one but if I don’t go then I’ll probably never do it.

road.png

Relying: This past week I’ve been relying on orange juice to keep me energized. The doctor knows it’s not my B12, low iron levels, or thyroid. But it has to be something that is making me feel fatigued by 1PM every day. When I drink a glass of orange juice by lunch my energy levels stay perfectly normal. I think maybe it’s stress related.

Addressing: Up to this point I’ve stayed relatively quiet about the political world. But that was before Betsy DeVos & her hearing before the committee. Like many people who’ve watched her hearing I was left shocked with her responses, or lack thereof. I’m an educator. I take pride in my kids and I don’t view my job as a job. I get up every morning energized and excited to see my kids. But my job is far more than “taking care of kids” as several people like to assume. When I was interviewed for my job if my replies were anything like Mrs. DeVos I wouldn’t have a job. When you look at her interview she had no idea that IDEA was a federal law, when questioned about guns and their place in schools she stated that we do need guns in schools because of bears (yes, I’m not making this up), and when asked if all schools who receive federal funding (whether traditional public, public charter or private schools) should be held to the same accountability all she could reply with was, “I support accountability.” That’s not an answer. By repeating that answer over and over again is merely dodging the question. As a teacher I’ve had my students try this tactic on my several times. When I press and ask them if they even understand what I’m asking 99% of the time the answer is no. I then take the time to clarify and rephrase the question. She could’ve easily done this, but she didn’t. She never fully answered anyone’s questions. This is not someone who is qualified for this job, but the question remains whether or not she will be confirmed for this position. I sincerely hope she is not.

Praising: The existence of the Blogger Tribe. I never realized how therapeutic it is to sit down once a week & write/type out the past week’s events. But today during church my preacher mentioned during the sermon that church is one hour out of our week that is full of reflection & gratitude. We, as a congregation, should view church as not only this but a time that is much needed (whether we realize it at the time or not) & appreciated. When I heard that something clicked and I not only view Sunday Services this way, but this group in the same light. I look forward to the Sunday Lately postings. I’ve only been a part of this group for a month now but I cannot fathom a week without it now. You are all awesome & inspire me. For that I thank you.

Singing:   I’ve been in an 80’s mood lately. Three songs have been on repeat.

  1. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out-The Smiths
  2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World-Tears for Fears
  3. All Through the Night-Cyndi Lauper

I think I have the documentary series The Eighties to blame for this recent mood. And if you want to re-live that decade or the 60’s & 70’s check it out on Netflix.

One final thing: to start your week on a positive note enjoy this picture of my little ball of fluff, Daisy Belle, enjoying a car ride to the local pond to see her “live squeaky toys.”

16114920_10210190914841247_8697109593059025548_n

Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup presented by the Blogger Tribe.Next week’s themes: Writing, Quitting, Fixing, Celebrating, Updating.

Sunday Lately with Blogger Tribe
2 thoughts on “Sunday Lately #108

  1. Oh Betsy Devos. I don’t think I’m allowed to publicly make comments about my actual feelings about her. Just know that I’m not exactly her #1 fan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

