Return of the Triceps Torture

I meant to post yesterday but work was insane & by the time I got home from the gym I was exhausted. My workout for Wednesday was not my usual AMRAP. Instead a friend from another class convinced me to try PiYo again. The class was packed but since I’m always early to things I was able to get a nice spot. Fifteen minutes into the class & I was drenched in sweat. I’d forgotten how quickly the moves were and by the end of class my legs were jelly & I was covered in sweat. Needless to say I’ve fallen in love with this class all over again.

Workout Breakdown:

  • 55 minutes
  • 116 avg bpm
  • 351 calories burned
  • 90% fat burn

The core part of this workout was a killer as well as the legs. Last night the muscles in my ankles were super achy, but I put some Deep Blue on them & that helped a lot

Tonight’s workout however was just hateful. It was Kick Your Butt Thursday & I had a long day at work. I was really hoping we were going to do some punching because the kids really tested my patience today.

Workout Breakdown:

  • 54 minutes
  • 127 avg bpm
  • 427 calories burned
  • 69% fat burn

By the third song in my instructor began incorporating the weights part of Booty Barre & it’s focus was biceps and triceps. My arms were not happy during this part. Tabata was even more hateful to my triceps. As per usual this class was six exercises, 30 seconds of work, & 10 seconds of rest. The exercises:

  1. Pushups
  2. Fast Row w/a Lift (I used 5 pound weights)
  3. Mountain Climbers
  4. Bicep Curls (forward and side)
  5. Full Body Triceps Dips
  6. Air Traffic Controllers (one arm goes in front while the other goes out to the side)

Workout Breakdown:

  • 24 minutes
  • 117 avg bpm
  • 162 calories burned
  • 100% fat burn

My tabata workout could’ve been better but I was dragging on the mountain climbers and dips. But I’m still happy with the calories burned & I felt amazing & much less stressed after the workouts. Another week down and another week closer to my goal.

 

Leave a Reply

