Sunday Lately #109

i-qxpflfz-l

Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup hosted by the Blogger Tribe, which is fearlessly led by Angelica (Gardening in High Heels) & Katy (Wild and Wanderful). We  e-hangout every Sunday, sharing a small glimpse into the past week of life in our own worlds. We’d love if you could join us!

This week’s themes: Writing, Quitting, Fixing, Celebrating, Updating.

Writing: Titles of various children’s books that I loved having read to me when I was little. My best friend’s baby shower is next month & in lieu of cards she’s requesting we bring a book instead. I love this idea but she has also given me an impossible task. My list currently stands at 25 & still growing. I may just write down my absolute favorites on a piece of paper, toss them into a hat, and pull out 3 titles and gift those.

Quitting: I’m going quit staying silent on my views. I’ve always been one to stay silent with my political views. Given the recent events in our nation I feel that I can no longer do that.

tumblr_okiytuxdhk1rh0tglo1_500

“Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free…”

But in 2017 we need to add the following statement behind that line, (some restrictions apply).  That’s where we are.

This ban is immoral, unconstitutional,  & if these protests are any indication to the rest of the world a MAJORITY of us do not agree with it. We’re standing with those that are seeking freedom. I stand with those that are seeking freedom. Our nation was founded by immigrants. Whether you want to admit that or not. That’s in our history books, it’s not some made up fact, it’s not some anti-Republican lie to make Trump look bad, it’s a historical fact. Ellis Island, Angel Island, the plaque on the Statue of Liberty, all of these are associated with immigrants & immigration.

It’s also not lost on me the fact that this ban was signed on Holocaust Remembrance Day. If that’s not a slap in the face to history I don’t know what is.

To my followers, if you are Muslim know that I do not support this ban, I do not support this President, nor any policy, opinion, tweet, or anything his administration stands for. I pray and hope that you are safe and if you have family that’s affected by this know that I’m going to be using my voice along with thousands of others to make sure that they can stay and that more can come.

To my followers who do not agree with the above statement-feel free to click the Unfollow button.  I’m not going to debate this with you. I have no time or room for hate & do not tell me that this is not about hate and that it’s more of a “security issue.” That’s absolute bullshit. It’s hate. I refuse to stay silent.

Fixing: I’m not sure if I fixed anything this week besides students’ papers. I did a lot of that. And my one problem/complaint about that is their mistakes could’ve been prevented. The word bank was right in front of them & yet some still misspelled the word.

Celebrating: My gym celebrated surviving the first month of 2017 by having a happy hour PiYo class Saturday night. We just did the warm up, 2 flow sections and a cool down. It was fantastic & we’re going to make this a monthly thing.

Updating: If you haven’t been reading my latest posts I’ll update you here now on how the half marathon training is going. I’m down 6 pounds, my triceps hate me after this week’s workouts, and choosing healthier foods is becoming easier.

Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup presented by the Blogger Tribe.Next week’s themes: Procrastinating, Hiding, Imagining, Sharing, Praising. 

Sunday Lately with Blogger Tribe
3 thoughts on “Sunday Lately #109

Leave a Reply

