Books, Books, and More Books

Yesterday’s music post had me thinking at 2AM what other ice breaker/get to know me lists could I write about? And then it hit me. BOOKS!  To narrow it down I’m going to list just the chapter books that I either read in a day or could re-read them over & over again.

  • Anne of Green Gables. I read this in 6th grade and fell in love with the imagination and spunky character of Anne herself. I may not be a redhead but I saw so much of myself in her.
  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. When I was in 7th grade we had to do a character book report & I chose this book. I dressed up as little Francie Nolan & told the class my story.
  • Matilda. The first book I ever read by Roald Dahl. Matilda was imaginative, inquisitive, and loved to read. (Have you sensed a theme with my favorite books so far?)
  • The Ghost of Blackwood Hall. My first “grown up” mystery book. Or so I thought in my head.  I bought it at the local bookstore in 1996 for getting straight A’s on my report card. My mom suggested that I try this series because she loved this series when she was my age. But of course I didn’t read the first book. I went with #25 because the cover looked cool.
  • And Then There Were None. The next level of mystery series for me to become addicted to reading. Again, this author was at mom’s suggestion.
  • Eleanor & Park. This book broke my heart. Even though it’s YA fiction I still found it relatable.

This slice is super brief today because now I have to start getting ready for Adult Prom. <-There’s a preview about tomorrow’s slice.

16 thoughts on “Books, Books, and More Books

  1. I like your post and will probably borrow the idea from you. Don’t worry! I think our lists of books will be much different. This is just because I can tell I’m much older than you, given the dates you cite being a student. I’m still a student, but well ensconced in middle age. Books are always a great topic!

    Like

  2. I don’t watch movies over and over again, but I do read books again and again. The Twits, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Sarah, Plain and Tall, are three books I read to my classes almost every year. I’ve now done Edward Tulane twice and am already looking forward to doing it again next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read A Tree Grows In Brooklyn when I was in 7th or 8th grade, as part of a Great Books reading club. I don’t remember much about the book….Maybe it’s time to re-read it. 🙂 ~JudyK

    Like

  4. I love books- I just posted about that a few days ago. I too count “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” as one of my all-time favorites!

    Like

  5. This is a great idea for a post! My always and forever favorite is Ella Enchanted, by Gail Carson Levine. I was inspired by Ella’s strength, determination, and compassion. I should give it a reread. Thank you!

    Like

  6. I love list slices – and a list of books just can’t be beat! Matilda is a favorite! Ca’t wait to hear about the prom!

    Like

  7. Such fun to see a list like this! Some titles I loved are on your list – Anne of Green Gables (which I don’t think I read until adulthood) and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I also read the post about your adult prom. It looks like a blast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

