The Winner

I am tired.

I am sore.

I cannot take another step.

I cannot do another burpee.

I cannot finish these 30 burpees.

I could try to do fifteen this round.

No one would know.

Except you, says that little voice.

Setting my jaw I steel my shoulders and start another round.

I cannot take another step and yet I will.

I cannot finish these 30 burpees and yet I will.

I am so close just ten more.

The timer says 30 seconds just as my trainer yells it.

I kick it into overdrive and tell myself to suck it up buttercup. No cheating yourself!

The bell dings just as I finish my last burpees.

The round is over.

I am tired.

I am sore.

But I didn’t take any shortcuts.

I finished & I am strong.

8 thoughts on “The Winner

  1. So I am inferring you are competing in both physical and writing challenges this month! Congrats! Either you are an ambitious individual or you are an overachiever. Either way, congrats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

