Music Soothes the Soul

Today’s adventures at work weren’t that noteworthy. Same Wednesday schedule. Same problems. I didn’t go to the gym tonight because I’ve been diagnosed with bronchitis and thought it would be smart to go home and relax. My day was alright and yet I still felt a little stressed out when I did get home. I decided to do what I always do when I’m stressed. I  changed into my favorite gym sweatpants, an old band t-shirt, put my glasses on, and threw my hair up into a messy bun. After grabbing my earbuds off of my bed I sat down on the couch and plugged them into my iPod. A few taps later I had my playlist appropriately titled ‘Relaxation’ playing in my ears. I felt the day’s stress slowly easing from my shoulders and neck. While my usual taste in music is all over the place my relaxation music isn’t as much. I give you now a small glimpse into how to relax this teacher.

  • Flying to the Moon, Hide and Seek, Little Bear’s Room, Emily’s Theme, Goodnight Little Bear-Lesley Barber. These five songs come from the show Little Bear. When I was little I loved listening to the music playing in the background. One night I stumbled upon these songs via YouTube. The uploader kindly provided a link that allowed me to download these songs. Anytime I play these I feel like I’m six again. I especially love playing Hide and Seek Emily’s Theme while I’m walking around my local library. I can’t explain why but I feel like these songs fit walking around a library.
  • Dolly, Op. 56: I. Berceuse-Faure. I think I’m drawn to this song because it sounds like it could fit in with an episode of Little Bear.
  • Air and Simple Gifts-Yo-Yo Ma, Anthony McGill, Gabriela Montero, & Itzhak Perlman. This particular piece was played at President Obama’s 2009 Inauguration. It combines my two favorite classical pieces and performed beautifully.
  • Orca in the Wild-Jeff Beal. I came upon this song while I was watching the documentary Blackfish. As soon as it begins playing I feel uplifted and the images of a clear blue sky and gliding along with birds in the sky come to mind. The cello, piano, and violin blend together with ease.
  • Polonia-Christophe Beck. This piece has a hint of underlying sadness in it. But if you’ve seen the movie Under the Tuscan Sun then you know the reason why the sadness feeling is there. At the same time I feel calmness to it too.
  • A Lonely Decision-Murray Gold. Music from Doctor Who has always been a staple in my study music repertoire. But I think my favorite music comes from the time of the Eleventh Doctor/Amy Pond match up.
  • The Sixth Station-Joe Hisaishi. If you’ve ever seen a Miyazaki film then you’ve heard music from this particular composer.
  •  O’Connor: Butterfly Day’s Out-Yo-Yo Ma, Mark O’Connor, Edgar Meyer. It makes me think of the perfect spring day. I always play this song & the next one when I go for a drive out the local country roads in the spring & fall.
  • Attaboy-Yo-Yo Ma, Chris Thile, Stuart Duncan, & Edgar Meyer. A true bluegrass feel that starts out a lively tempo that changes at 2:34 into a lively toe-tapping reel. Then it seamlessly changes back to that original tempo at 4:04.

After slicing for fifteen days most of you have probably figured out that I love books and music. But when I really think about it I think I love music a little more than books. And now to unwind with a little more music from Yo-Yo Ma.

 

2 thoughts on “Music Soothes the Soul

  1. I enjoyed the detailed description of each of these songs, and the reasons they are relaxing for you. Sounds like you have a musical background; do you play an instrument or two?

    Like

Leave a Reply

