A Better Day

Today was a much better day. My students worked all morning with zero complaint. My BD kid didn’t show up until 11:30 but his day went smoothly. He did his work and stayed on task. He told me at the end of the day that after school he was going to go home and meditate. He said that he was pretty sure he had a good day. I told him that he had a very good day. He wished me a good afternoon and left.

I didn’t mention yesterday to him at all. Instead of focusing on the negativity of yesterday I chose to focus on the positivity of today. I commended him on his good work today. I told him that his explanations to the social studies worksheet were well thought out. He’s a bright kid but his temper tends to isolate him from the other students. But today was a good day. Here’s hoping tomorrow is too.

3 thoughts on “A Better Day

  1. Your mindset helps him, too! If he even had the INTENTION of going home and meditating – man, you guys are doing something right. And that self-awareness to recognize a good day when he has it! So many good things.

    Like

  2. We all need the reminder that each day is a brand new start. His day could have been worse, starting off late, but your positive attitude allowed the good day to happen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

