Fearless

Today was our school’s talent show.  It was set for the afternoon and the contestants were excited. There were fourteen acts ranging from dancers to instrumentalists. We even had one 4th grader be the in-between acts entertainment.  All of the kids were great and they were fearless. If they were nervous they never showed it. There were two 5th grade girls that sang a duet and their voices blended beautifully! A 3rd grader performed Dolly Parton’s “Coat of Many Colors” and she had such an innocence to her voice. Of course that song has personal meaning to me because it made me think of all the vacations with my grandparents. I found myself fiddling with my Origami Owl necklace during that performance. Three of my 4th grade girls came over and sat around me when they saw me doing that. They knew what it meant. However they didn’t realize that was about to make me really cry because that small gesture meant a lot to me. The final act was a trio of girls who sang “Fight Song” and one of them was a 4th grader that is pretty outgoing but I had no idea she could sing! At the end of the show I found her she latched onto me and asked, “Ms. Barrick, what did you think?” Her eyes were brimming with hope and the second I told her that I loved her voice she nearly toppled me over with her hug. Another 4th grade girl, who danced, came running over to me and asked what I thought. I told her that her moves were awesome and I was glad that this year she was healthy. She was going to dance last year but came down with a high grade fever and the flu the day before the show. She was so mad at herself for becoming sick.

Before we went to this show I told my group of 5th graders that I expected better behavior from them than from the previous assembly. I told them that if the thought crossed their mind to heckle or jeer any of the acts that it would be automatic detention and we would be making a trip to the front office. I told them them that it takes a lot of courage to get up on stage alone for an audition. But it takes just as much, if not a little more, courage to perform in front of their peers. During the entire show none of them goofed off or made any negative comments. For this 5th grade class that’s a huge accomplishment.

I was proud of all of the kids that performed today. For just a moment they were fearless and oh how they shined!

4 thoughts on “Fearless

  1. It always amazes me how kids “stand up” when they need to.Your story was touching, especially the part when you shared the sensitivity of your students – they are so insightful. It’s pure joy to enjoy our students outside of the classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I am amazed at the courage of elementary students when it comes to performing! I’m glad your students stepped up and behaved well during the show; you did a great job explaining why they should do so. It’s obvious you are connected to the students in your school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

