Reflection

It’s March 31st and that means that this 31 Slice of Life Challenge has come to a close.  I can’t believe how quickly it flew by. As a first time slicer I went into this challenge telling myself that I would try to have quality content in every single on of my posts. Did I succeed in doing that? No. A few of them were short and not my greatest and that’s only because I was exhausted that day and I knew if I had kept writing it would’ve been a rambling mess.

First I’d like to thank Twowritingteachers.org for setting up this writing challenge. I feel that I grew not only as a writer through this challenge but as an educator too. By being reflective at the end of each day it helped me learn how to be a little more patient or a little more encouraging. I’ve met so many new incredible educators over the past month and allow me to say that your students are lucky to have each of you as their teacher.

Over the course of the past thirty-one days I’ve learned the following things:

  • Writing is easy when you don’t box yourself in and think you need to write about a certain topic.
  • I shouldn’t be afraid to put myself out there a little more. I really dove into some personal events and thoughts a few times. Each time the responses blew me away in just how supportive you were.
  • Sometimes the smallest things can provide you with inspiration.
  • I’ve fallen in love with blogging daily. I think I’m going to try to blog three times a week and write about more than just my daily workouts.

And one thing I’m very sure of is that I’m already looking forward to next year’s Slice of Life Challenge.  To those of you that took the time to comment on my posts thank you. Those comments allowed me to grow as a writer. And it also allowed me to feel how my students feel when they present their writings to me. They often stand next to me nervous but they light up when I leave them positive feedback. That’s exactly how I felt each time one of you commented. Sometimes I think as educators we kind of forget what it’s like to receive critique from the student POV. I hope all of you stick around and read my slices occasionally. The challenge may be over but I still have a lot to write about it. And I definitely plan to take part in the Tuesday Slices.

5 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Excellent insights. I’m a first timer too and feel pretty much the same way. I was nervous about “putting myself out there” too. Finally last week I shared with my sisters that I had been blogging and they were so encouraging. In fact one was looking at WordPress to set up her own before the day was over.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You did an amazing job for your first Slice of Life Challenge! You are a great storyteller, and you will find that the more you write, the better you are able to coach your students with their writing. This was my fifth year slicing, and I’ve gone from having one blog to two–one for more professional posts to share with my learning community, and a more personal platform that I use for slicing and speaking out as an individual. Looking forward to seeing you on Tuesdays!

    Like

  3. I’m glad you were here slicing every day. Not everything we write is going to be stellar, but we need to write it down nevertheless. Hope to see you around on Tuesdays during the year. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

