Sunday Lately #133

Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup hosted by the Blogger Tribe, which is fearlessly led by Angelica (Gardening in High Heels) and Katy (Wild and Wanderful). We e-hangout every Sunday, sharing a small glimpse into the past week of life in our own worlds. We’d love if you could join us!

This week’s themes: Hitting, Ending, Sensing, Handling, Shining.

I’m FINALLY back & feeling ready to write again. A lot has happened since my last post and I will fill you in within this post.

Hitting: The other night I hit the wall with my stress level. Ever since my last post my stress level went through the roof. My vacation to Tennessee was wonderful & like always I didn’t want to come back. We came back on a Thursday & that night my grandmother fell in her garden and broke her left wrist, hit her head, & had to be flown to Ruby Memorial Hospital. My mother and I drove over to Morgantown the next morning, running on little sleep, and visited with her. After seeing her we felt better but that evening she fell backwards and hit her head again. She’s finally home but now she’s refusing to use the walker and doesn’t care if she falls again and it’s just super frustrating.  On top of that it looks like I’m going into another year of subbing and I’m tired of it. I swear if I hear one more person tell me to be patient or to wait my turn I may just scream. I’ve had interviews but then I always hear the same thing, “You gave a great interview and you’d be a perfect fit. However, we went with someone else.” I’m close to giving up and yet one thing keeps me from doing that. I look at the notes that I received from my 3rd then 4th grade students. I can’t walk away from that. I just can’t because when I’m in the classroom I’m happy. Fingers crossed that something happens between now and August 14th.

Ending: I’m a part of an online book club & this week we started our new read. All the Missing Girls. We were only supposed to read to page 119. I finished it in two days. I was shocked by the ending of it. The way it was told was unique and it really made you stop and think.  You almost felt like you were the detective.

Sensing: An air of change. The pastor at my church recently entered retirement and the past two Sundays we’ve had interim ministers. Our new one will be one of those two. Either one that the committee chooses I’ll be happy with. Each one was easy going and friendly. But what I really liked was both made you stop and think. Last week’s preacher made you stop and think about how we should see people. All people regardless of their education level, gender, age, race, etc. Today’s preacher talked to us about being your own superhero. We all have the ability to be our own superhero. Who is in charge of writing your story and your adventure? You. 

Handling: My stress level. After hitting the wall the other night it’s gone down somewhat. I’m hoping it stays that way.

Shining: Some self confidence into my life. I’ll admit when my stress level is high my self confidence takes a hit. Well today I took two selfies and loved them both. One before church:

IMG_20170716_150831_546

The second one was much later and with my glasses:

34f28c0c-ca06-4672-9806-eefd47d79903

Normally I hate myself in my glasses, but today I actually liked myself. It’s a start.

Sunday Lately is a weekly linkup presented by the Blogger Tribe.Next week’s themes: Trying, Buying, Capturing, Rejoicing, Clearing.

Sunday Lately with Blogger Tribe
One thought on “Sunday Lately #133

  1. Thanks for the book recommendation! I just added it to my e-library holds ;-). I’ve been listening to e-books as I sew/cut out patterns lately :). My most recent one was The Book Thief. I totally recommend the audio version of this – the narrator’s voice is *perfect*! Good luck with your job search!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

